top of page

Am I annoying?


As I mentioned last week, spring is usually a time when I’m thinking way too much about what I’m doing, how I’m doing and who I am and all that kind of dramatic stuff. So, as I’m still really in the mood for a bit of soul-searching, here’s a question I’ve been asking myself: am I annoying?

There’s several elements to this and the first one is that I’m definitely annoying to myself. I can’t count how many times I sigh at myself and another stupid thing I’ve either said, done or even just thought. My days aren’t filled with self-loathing, if that’s what it seems like, but yeah, I annoy myself. Which brings me to the question of whether I’m also annoying to those around me.

First of all, I know that there’s a lot of annoying things that I do on a regular basis. I correct people, not just concerning grammar or spelling but also content related. Moreover, I am insanely stubborn, especially when I believe I’m right. I tend to get a bit vocal when this happens and unjustifiably worked-up. Other annoying things I do include singing loudly all the freaking day, complaining about pretty much anything that happens and spamming my friends with information they did not ask for at all.

So, am I annoying? I don’t think so. I’m annoying to myself, for sure, especially when I embarrass myself once again by getting into a heated discussion or singing along randomly to songs that only I can hear through my headphones, but there’s a twist. I didn’t used to have much friends at all aside from my family and they are pretty much obligated to endure me, but now I kind of do and the reason is simple. Some people will find me annoying and others won’t.

More importantly though, is how a person can act annoying without being annoying. As much as how someone who does a bad thing is not necessarily a bad person. That might sound far-fetched, but I honestly think it’s all about attitude and that’s the reason why I’m writing this. Because I did used to wonder whether I was just annoying and stupid in general until I met the right people who don’t seem so bothered by the array of bad qualities I display on a daily basis.


RECENT POST
bottom of page