top of page

The time I tried to buy a blue dress


For years i have been drawn towards the colour blue. I think it's a gorgeous colour that looks good on me and is nicely inconspicuous enough. Over the years I have owned clothes aplenty in the colour blue, ranging from bright blue to dark navy. However, when my sister asked me to get a blue dress for her wedding day I freaked.

Well, maybe I didn't freak immediately but I definitely did when I started looking for one and found myself scrolling through endless lists of unsuitable dresses. Issue #1: there's too many. After searching for days I gave up and decided to wait till the spring. After all, I had plenty of time and summer dresses are generally more often sold in the spring then during winter.

My search resumed in April, still months before the big day, and again I found myself scrolling and scrolling through way too many dresses. Finally, I found one. It was a bit extravagant but if not for my sister's wedding, then when? So, I decided to go for it, sacrifice an entire month of grocery budget and order the dress. So far so good. When the dress arrived, I was stunned. It was perfect. Beautiful, classy, elegant and also... ill fitted, as I soon came to find out. The entire dress was perfect until I tried to zip up the back and realised that the mesh around the neck for some reason accommodated for a reasonably sized humpback.

Needless to say, I send the dress back and returned to my search. A week later I found another good piece of clothing. A baby blue, very tightly fitted, business-style dress that I ordered wondering whether I would be able to breathe on the day and whether I found that absolutely necessary? The dress arrived and my worries were legit. It was pretty tight. However, summer was approaching so I would probably maintain my weight anyway and with a bit of help I was able to zip up the dress, so I decided to just go for it. I was tired of my search at this point and it looked amazing, so yeah, that's my excuse.

Months passed and with the wedding coming closer I decided to do a final fitting to see if it would still dress. As it turns out, a good decision. The dress still fitted but the force with which I had to yank the zipper up caused it to have a breakdown. Long story short, I wasn't going to be wearing this particular dress. Back to the drawing boards.

Desperate and with only about a week left, I ordered a final dress, which was pretty okay, albeit a bit weirdly shaped. My journey had finally come to an end. I like to think that this experience has taught me to be a lot less picky with my dresses, but it has probably just taught me to start stressing months in advance over finding the perfect fit. So, there's your moral to the story. Don't leave it to the last minute. Also, think about whether you can actually put on and take off the dress without any help because you might *ahem, definitely* find yourself in a situation where you're all but breaking your arm in an attempt to unzip the thing. Be prepared.


RECENT POST
bottom of page