top of page

Lighthearted writing versus opening up


When I started writing again last year, after being alternatively too lazy and too scared to do so for some time, I wrote about absolutely nothing. My one goal was to write and the content and quality was a second priority. I think I have mentioned that before, actually. The point is that I find myself more and more reverting to my usual style which is a tad on the more serious side and which is also a lot more personal, embarrassing and probably unwise to post online.

I’ve been thinking about that for a while now as it makes it slightly more complicated to come up with posts that I can be happy about and that aren’t going to wreck my social life or future career. Still, I’ve been gaining a slight fuck-it attitude about it. I’ve started seeing this blog for what it is; a place for me to talk to the world in a way that I wouldn’t necessarily do in normal conversation. Or maybe more accurately, a way to spew out all the rants that I would normally bore my friends and family with? I’m not quite sure but the idea is simply this: writing what I feel like writing in the way that I feel like doing it makes it a thousand times more easy and enjoyable to actually do it. In the end it is about practice and development so if this is the way I can motive myself to keep practicing and developing then I’m actually okay with people reading my primarily bullshitted content.

For the future this means that I’m going to stop holding back even if that means embarrassing myself. I have so far stayed away from heavy subjects that interest me such as politics or religion but I’m not going to do that anymore. I fervently believe that life consists of lot of learning moments and most everything that will happen to you will teach you something valuable. I can look back on last year and see all the things that happened and how they’ve contributed to who I am now. Similarly, I can already tell that this year is teaching me loads of new things and one thing that I keep coming back to lately is authenticity and taking leaps of faith. So, there’s my valuable lesson of this week; cut the bullshit, cut the self-preservation and be vulnerable.


RECENT POST
bottom of page