top of page

Decluttering


One positive aspect about moving house every couple of months due to forced trips abroad for school is that I need to sort out my stuff on a regular basis. Every time I do this I realise how much freaking stuff I still own. It’s honestly driving me insane. When I left England I threw away so much because I was kind of worried it wouldn’t even fit in the car that was coming to pick me up, which is madness. Still, it was a massive load of crap and when I finally combined it again with everything I’d stored at my mom’s for the time it turned out to be an excessive amount of stuff that I definitely do not need. Regardless, I took it all with me back to my room in Rotterdam where it’s been attracting more useless objects for another six months.

Now, as I’m getting ready to leave for France, I had to gather everything again and bring it to my sister’s place where I spend the summer. And guess what; it’s too much again. I am baffled by the sheer amount of boxes coming from the tiny little cubicle that is my living space. I’m slightly exaggerating but I sincerely cannot fathom how I can throw away so much and still own too much.

The thing about decluttering is limiting yourself to the absolute essentials and I can honestly say that that’s what I’m trying. I guess I’m just not great at figuring out what the essentials are. Therefore, since I’m going to Nice by plane, I am having a bit of rough time bringing it back to two suitcases that I can physically still carry myself. Conclusion: I’m not good at decluttering and this is a fill-up post because I just remembered I had to write something and I’m too chaotic and tired to come up with anything better. Better luck next week and for the meantime, the picture at the top is of my dog and it’s my way of making amends for this catastrophe. She’s lovely, right?


RECENT POST
bottom of page