top of page

It's October!


What happened? How is it already October? How is it already time for sweaters, yes even here in Nice, falling leaves and saying goodbye to iced lattes? Also, how are we already approaching the end of 2017 and how am I already done with my first month at EDHEC?

All questions aside, I’m in fact enjoying this autumn so far. Last year, to fill some free time I was reading a lot of business blogs and they all raved about how Autumn is the perfect time to reassess how the year is going and to give a new impulse to old efforts. I didn’t quite buy that but this year I’m making an effort. Now, I have to admit that I reassess how my year is going almost every single day, side-effect of overthinking, but I’m trying to be more serious about it now.

I chose to go to Nice because I heard the school would be pretty much just a pain in the ass and I knew I had to learn some discipline and hard work. So far, I’m not sure how that’s going for me. But what this semester has brought me is a lot of creativity. Being socially awkward as I am, writing and doodling during classes is a lot easier than approaching classmates. So that’s what I do and regardless of how sad that sounds, I am loving it.

Which is not to say that that’s all I’m doing. I think it’s mainly the combination of being abroad, experiencing a load of new things and then having the time throughout the week at school to put all of those experiences on paper. It’s made me realise how much I love to write and how it really doesn’t matter how silly or lame that is. And that, is this week’s lesson I suppose. I’ve written before about doing what you love and whether that’s always a good idea. I think I have to say now that it is. Go for it, do the thing. Do no lose sight of essentials such as school or work, but make time for your passions as well. Balance is key.


RECENT POST
bottom of page