top of page

The good kind of nostalgia


It’s Wednesday, So I guess I failed my upload schedule again. But oh well, I blame the exams. In any case, I was just on my way home when I realised two things, 1) I forgot to write yesterday and 2) I’m feeling a good kind of nostalgia. See, I experience a lot of nostalgia in my everyday life. This time it’s the good kind but I would be lying if I said it’s always like that. I’m a nostalgic wreck most days.

Still, I wasn’t talking about that. It’s a sunny week, exams are going okay, so I want to talk about something more positive. One of my favourite things in the world is listening to music, which is why I pay a freaking fortune each month even though I’m consistently broke to be able to listen to my playlists without being interrupted by commercials. The point is, listening to songs brings back so many memories and sometimes I just realise all of a sudden how many good memories I have.

The last couple of months have been a very crazy time in which I’ve had so many amazing days with my favourite people and yet I’ve felt miserable so many days. I don’t want to dwell on that again but the reason I’m mentioning it is because today I didn’t feel like that at all and it’s all because of the good kind of nostalgia. It’s that feeling when you just don’t remember the hardship at all because in hindsight you can totally see all the upsides and see the downsides in perspectives.

To be fair, I think most people see this as a bad thing because it makes a person very biased towards the past but I see it as a good thing. I know rationally that back in the UK I’ve had so many difficult moments. I really struggled, especially at the start, with finding my way and feeling less lonely, but I know now that in hindsight these months were possibly the best of my lives despite those moments.

I think the best part about this is how encouraging it is for the future. To me, it’s not about the fact that I see the past more positively than it actually was; it’s about the fact that in hindsight things are generally less awful than it might seem at the time. And that is not only a lot more fun when looking back but it’s also a beautiful lesson for the future.

So, there you go. I’m going to continue today with smiling to myself and listening to songs that remind me of rainy England. On to bigger and better..


RECENT POST
bottom of page