top of page

The future


The last 2.5 years of my life have been pretty eventful, I would say. From living in a small town in the Netherlands with my mom and being nervous about taking a train to a slightly bigger city half an hour away, to living on my own abroad and not thinking twice about getting on a plane by myself for new adventures; my life has changed pretty drastically.

It’s not just that, though. Emotionally it has also been quite a bumpy ride with big ups and big downs. I have been terrified and upset more times than I can count but I have also been overwhelmed with more joy than I’ve ever known before. Before, I used to think the future was a pretty dependable thing. Like, I remember when I was in high school and I had a discussion with my mom about how I would ever meet new people and I vividly recall not seeing a single possibility that would change that.

My point is that 2.5 years of very rapid change later I have all the possibilities in the world. I now finally realize that my future is anything but set in stone and there are countless ways of it changing along the way.

I’m not entirely sure why I am writing this all down but I guess there are two points that I want to make.

  1. If you think you are stuck somewhere and it’s all a dead-end and nothing will ever change: that’s usually not how life works. Change is inevitable and in hindsight you will probably wonder why you did not see it coming.

  2. Change is also a little scary. As well as endless possibilities are a little scary. It can be scary to feel like nothing is set in stone and anything is possible, and that’s okay.

With 2017 starting off I am more unsure than ever about what my life will look like even in a month’s time. The best part, however, is that no matter what; the future will happen and there’s nothing I can do about it but take a deep breath and do my best to make it a good one.


RECENT POST
bottom of page